Thoughts about art

I discovered Egon Schiele in high school. It was during my time at a private school where we had the world’s best art teacher named Yolanda. She was an artist with a real art studio in central Lund. We had to write a essay about an artist and she hinted that I would like this this incredible artist.

In my home I have a nice poster that I bought at the art gallery for about a year ago. The idea was that I would frame it, but because  Gallerix frames costs about 500-1000 kr I decided that there is no chance in hell that I will spend money on something like that.

Alfons Mucha was a czech artist and as many other czech people, I adore him.There is something special about that country. It’s kind of like Poland but with a slightly higher status, and it is more acceptable to say you like the Czech Republic thanPoland. Strange isn’t? It may just be like this in Sweden, where the Swedes have looked down on the Poles since they came here and got married to our obese men and treated waiters like shit and dolled up their daughters like Barbie dolls?

I bought the Plaza magazine a while back. Is it a boy or a girl magazine? Anyway, after browsing through the first 11 pages of advertising  I found some interesting  a really interesting art articles about Cooper and Gorfer. Their trip to Kyrgyzstan gave them wonderful images to paint on. Here you have a fine example.

This piece is named Shola & the cat 2010. They met with Shola and her son, Islam in Kyrgyzstan. The portrait was combined with the country’s folklore and mystical people.

I think this piece is amazig and I have it as my desktop picture at work.

About thoughtsaboutart

My name is Melanie and I am a 24 year old woman living in the south of Sweden. I love writing and reading on my spare time and the reason I choose to have this blog in english is so I can meet new people/writers/bloggers. Sweden is a great country but the people can be a bit boring at times so if you want a european blogger friend then here I am. I live in Malmö http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malmö and I've lived here since I was 15 years of age. Before that I lived in a cottage in the woods with my english dad and swedish mum and two siblings. Sometimes I want to move out to the country side but then I remember I don't have a driving license and I realise I have to live in the city.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

